Win the Witcher UK and more!

Merry Game Blogs Giveaway! In celebration of the holidays, over the next week the Writers Cabal and a select group of other game bloggers will be running a competition for fun and prizes.

Gameproducer.net will be giving away a game for the person who suggests the best name for his new computer game!
Wadjet Eye Games Blog will be giving away a choice of prizes: CD-ROM versions of BLACKWELL LEGACY and BLACKWELL UNBOUND or a poster of BLACKWELL LEGACY! Just write a line of dialog for Rosangela Blackwell, Joey Mallone, or both and if your dialog is chosen, you’ll win a prize AND Wadjet Eye will try to include your dialog in the next BLACKWELL game.

Our prize – a copy of THE WITCHER (UK) for PC! If you’re just now hearing about it, check out some reviews… and if you want a spoiler, click here. With 80 hours of gameplay, it should take you well into January ;)

How do you Win a Copy?
All you have to do is comment on the Writers Cabal Blog until Wednesday, December 19th, at 8am PST. We’ll choose one random comment left during the week on any post on the blog. That commenter will win a copy of the game- it is as simple as that.

The comments do need to be legitimate (that is, on topic and adding value to the conversation), but you can enter as many times as you like – each relevant comment that you leave is an ‘entry’.

Then check back next Wednesday to see if you won! Look forward to conversing with you!

Question Mark Guess that game dialog! This week’s line of game dialog: “Looks like we have a winner in the non-stop vomiting sweepstakes!” Check back next week to see where it came from.

Want your friends to win? Click here to e-mail this post to someone!

Published in: on December 13, 2007 at 7:51 am  Comments (14)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://writerscabal.wordpress.com/2007/12/13/win-a-copy-of-the-witcher-and-more/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Writers Cabal Blog will be giving away The Witcher to one lucky commenter before 19th December. […]

  2. Wow, you are very generous:) I like that :). To bad I’ve never win anything, so I’m not assuming any prize from my post.

  3. I’ve been gaming since I was 5 years old (when the original NES came out)… I’m excited to read more about your blog… writing for game developers!? That’s freaking amazing.

    I am currently responsible for all marketing communications for my accounting firm… not nearly as interesting as your content. But on the side, I’m writing my own science-fiction fantasy novel… it’s encouraging to see your blog – lookng forward to reading more posts. God bless.

  4. Wow that’s a great game! Thanks for the giveaway!

  5. I looked into the Witcher some more as I hadn’t heard of it until reading your blog. It looks like a good game. I’m checking out the demo after I write this to get a little more insight about the people living the dream and writing in games. My bro writes for and does the cinematics for NinjaBee/Wahoo who makes XBL Arcade games.
    It’s great that the video game writing genre is becoming large enough that their can be a support group for it, and it truly can be a new story telling medium. It just keeps getting better. I just checked this blog, but I’ll keep checking in now, as I am working on a “spec” video game script for a non linear mmo. I know there’s not a market for spec, but I love to write, and this is good practice. Keep up the good work!

  6. Oooh…non linear RPG and one with such high reviews given for free. Even I don’t win I may just buy it anyway to see. :)

  7. I was just reading Gamespot’s review of The Witcher at http://www.gamespot.com/pc/rpg/thewitcher/ It sounds like a really great game and I plan on picking it up soon!

  8. Well, since you are trying so hard to get comments, I thought I would give a little feedback on your site. I personally love it. I’m glad to see people who take games seriously as a story telling medium, and I’m especially glad to be able to learn from you.

  9. Wow… this looks like a really easy contest to win :)

    Hope i get picked :D:D

  10. Thanks everyone for the kind words, and I have my fingers crossed for all of you ;)

    Dan – LOL! You’re funny to think of Writers Cabal as a support group — next time you show, we’ll be talking about our wounded inner children ;) Writers Cabal is a professional game writing partnership and our Blog is dedicated to helping game developers work with writers and writing!

    And Michael — you’re not too shabby yourself ;) I’d love to hear your perspective on story-telling in games some time!

    -Anne

  11. I like the sound of that!
    Better post a comment! :P
    “I thought I would give a little feedback on your site. I personally love it.” – That sounds like a good topic for conversation on posts, personally I like it, I’m sure I’ll be coming back. Good job.

  12. Well, since you asked for my perspective, and it gives me another entry into your contest ;), here it is.

    I see the game industry leveling off soon in terms of technology. We’re already giving up on the next-gen 3d graphics in favor of 2d casual games, simply because it does a better job at the specific thing we want to do at the time. Sure, we’ll keep pushing the limits (that’s what game designers do), but I think we’ll be able to stop worrying so much about the limits of our technology when designing games, and be able to worry more about making the game fun and telling the story we need to tell.

    People crave stories. Joss Whedon called story telling the most basic human need (He said that food is an animal need, and shelter is a luxury). I agree with him. Storytelling is what makes us different from all of the animals out there. (No, tools do not. I’ve seen a raccoon make a tool.) We as humans create purpose in our lives and the lives of those around us by telling tales of those that have gone before, creating allegories of things that have happened or may happen, and putting things into perspective for the people around us. With games, we not only tell the story, we let people live the story. Suddenly anyone can pick up a controller or a mouse and instantly be transported to another world, where they can do all of the things that they had only dreamed of before, and then some things they would never dare to dream.

    The game industry is going to go through a lot of growth in the near future, and I’m excited to be a part of it, because I have a lot of stories to tell.

  13. […] not too late to enter the win THE WITCHER UK!  Contest ends Wednesday at 8am […]

  14. (from Michael)

    “Sure, we’ll keep pushing the limits (that’s what game designers do), but I think we’ll be able to stop worrying so much about the limits of our technology when designing games, and be able to worry more about making the game fun and telling the story we need to tell.”

    The success of the Wii (with “only” a 730 MHz processor) is a clear example of that.

    (Sorry, that’s as insightful as I gets at 3 am. So much for passing through the barrier into “Anti-Sleep” and arising refreshed…)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

