Happy 4th!: a WoW story

As some of you may know, today is Independence Day in the US. So while you’re off barbecuing or sweltering in the heat, I’d like to share one of my favorite July 4th experiences. No surprise it happened in-game.

I had been playing WoW for about four months when July 4th came along. As you can probably tell, my addiction was in full swing since the best thing I could think to do on the 4th was play all day! I made my way toward the bank and AH in Orgrimmar (Horde, ftw!) and saw someone had bought fireworks for the occasion. I didn’t have any, but I had enough area effect spells that mimicked them to join in. In a short while, many people were hanging out there, throwing their own fireworks. Meanwhile, in general chat people from all over the English-speaking world were discussing the merits and drawbacks of the US. On they went while we by the bank threw firework after firework. The silent patriotism was actually rather touching. It was definitely one of my more memorable 4ths, right up there with my grandfather shooting off bottle rockets from empty beer bottles.

I hope this memory serves as a gentle reminder that all of us, whether writer, designer, or programmer, are working to create the same thing: a fun experience for the player that maybe, just maybe, becomes memorable. So no matter who you are, go out and have a great day. I hope we’ll be throwing fireworks in each other’s game next year.

Found this blog entry useful? Click here to e-mail it to someone!

Published in: on July 4, 2007 at 12:04 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://writerscabal.wordpress.com/2007/07/04/happy-4th-a-wow-story/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A very, very late happy Fourth of July to you. 🙂

  2. And an early happy Bastille Day to you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

